-

The UK Government, Cornwall Council and charities like Sustrans, are actively working to increase the number of trips made on foot or by cycle. Active travel reduces congestion, improves
journey reliability and helps boost the local economy.

We support active travel as a healthy and sustainable means of transport, and will continue to publish useful information and resources when we can.


Sustrans

Sustrans is a charity making it easier for people to walk and cycle. They connect people and places, create liveable neighbourhoods, transform the school run and deliver a happier, healthier commute.

The information provided on this page is made possible thanks to their partnership with Cornwall Council. If you’d like to make a donation to support their work, you can visit www.sustrans.org.uk.

The Falmouth and Penryn active travel map can be downloaded as a PDF. We have also published information from the map so it is easy to read on smaller screens. Images of the maps are available towards the end of the page, but these may only be useful on larger screens.


Walking and cycling

Cornwall Council Interactive Mapping: Find local paths. www.cornwall.gov.uk/community-and-living/mapping

Cycle Streets: Cycle journey planner, which lets you plan routes from A to B by bike. www.cyclestreets.net

Falmouth Walks and Trails: www.falmouth.co.uk/see-and-do/walking/

Falmouth Green Corridor: www.falmouth.co.uk/see-and-do/parks/falmouth-green-corridor

Swanpool Nature Reserve: www.swanpool.org.uk

Glasney Valley and Reservoirs, Penryn: Explore the valley leading to Argal and College reservoirs. www.swlakestrust.org.uk

Penryn Nature Trail: www.penryn-tc.gov.uk/penryn-nature-trail


Nearby routes

Nearby are fantastic routes to explore by bike or on foot.

Cornish Way: Inter-linking routes between Bude and Land’s End.
www.cornwall.gov.uk/cornishway

Mining Trails Network: Explore 60km of trails on foot, bike or
horseback and discover Cornwall’s mining heritage. Including the
Coast to Coast Trail between Devoran and Portreath.
www.cornwall.gov.uk search Mineral Tramways.

National Cycle Network (NCN): UK wide network of cycling and
walking routes. www.sustrans.org.uk/map

South West Coast Path: Long distance national walking trail, join it
at Prince of Wales pier. www.southwestcoastpath.org.uk


Public transport

Fal River: Info on travel around Fal river area, including Fal Mussel card. www.falriver.co.uk

Maritime Line: Branch line between Falmouth and Truro with half hourly service. www.greatscenicrailways.co.uk

National Rail Enquiries: Tel: 08457 484950 www.nationalrail.co.uk

Traveline South West: Public transport information including real time journey information. Tel: 0871 2002233 www.travelinesw.com

Cornwall Public Transport: Bus, rail, coach and ferry information. www.cornwall.gov.uk/transport-and-streets/public-transport/

Penryn Nature Trail: www.penryn-tc.gov.uk/penryn-nature-trail


Car sharing

Car sharing Carshare Cornwall: Cut costs by sharing car journeys. www.carsharecornwall.com

Co Cars car club: Local car hire by the hour, locations in both towns. www.co-cars.co.uk

Falmouth and Penryn Active Travel Map

Penryn

Falmouth And Penryn Active Travel Map Penryn

Falmouth

Map showing active travel route around Penryn